150

Join us for the 150th anniversary of the Brussels tram network!

 

1869 Bois de la Cambre

4008 Meiser, 26 04 2007

The 1st of May, 1869 was a historic date for Brussels. On that day, the very first tram line was put into operation. This horse tram line ran from the Bois de la Cambre to Porte de Namur through avenue Louise. Later on, it was extended to Porte de Schaerbeek via place des Palais and rue Royale. Another extension gave it a more definitive terminus at the current Saint Servais church, on chaussée de Haecht (Schaerbeek). After electrification in 1897 it – logically – received line number 1, when all the lines were numbered in 1906. Despite being extended to place Verboeckhoven, line 1 was closed in 1929. Its route was entirely integrated in that of line 3, which had its terminus at the Gare de Schaerbeek.

On the 1st of May, 2019, exactly 150 years after the inauguration of the first line, our Museum, STIB and the Brussels Capital Region will celebrate this joyous occasion with a series of events along the historical route of this very first line. Click here to download a detailed programme in a PDF document.

A large tram parade: 120 volunteers and 40 vehicles!

The high point of our celebrations will, without a doubt, be the large tram parade on rue Royale, starting at 2 p.m. No less than 40 vehicles will take part. They represent the evolution from the first horse-drawn trams, to the very latest, modern, low-floor models that ply the streets of Brussels today. The Museum’s 120 volunteers will try to make this parade a memorable one, in collaboration with STIB and Visit Brussels, the regional tourist agency.

An exhibition: a steam tram at place Royale!

At place Royale, an exhibition will show the past and future of the tram in Brussels. A horse-drawn car from the 19th century will be shown next to a life-size model of the “next generation tram”, which will be put in service starting next year. The celebrations on May 1st will mark the very first time this model will be shown to the public. At place Royale, a number of vicinal trams will complete the exhibition. The vehicles on show connected Brussels with its periphery until 1978. One of these will be a working steam tram, brought over from Thuin for the occasion. Access to the exhibition is free of charge, it is open from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Trips on the museum’s trams after the parade!

From 4 p.m. to 6.30 p.m., you can ride the museum’s trams for free on one of two trips that closely follow the original itinerary of 1869. You can board at rue Royale, near the Parc de Bruxelles. Similar trips will also be organized on Sunday, 5 May from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. Attention: due to the limited capacity of our old trams, and the fact that almost all of our vehicles are in their original state, these trips are not accessible to wheelchairs and strollers.

The Tram Museum in the picture!

You will be welcomed not only by our 120 volunteers, but also by our exhibition stand located in the BIP courtyard, the “house of the region” on place Royale. Visitors can find out more about the Museum’s activities, and if they are interested they can find out more on how to become a member of the Museum. Last but not least, they can explore the Retro-Shop, our boutique devoted to transit related books and gadgets.

How to get to the celebrations?

We strongly advise our visitors to come by public transport, ideally by metro or train as some bus and tram lines might suffer delays due to the event:

  • Metro 1 and 5 : Arts-Loi/Kunst-Wet, Parc/Park and Gare centrale/Centraal Station stations
  • Metro 2 and 6 : Botanique/Kruidtuin, Arts-Loi/Kunst-Wet, Trône/Troon and Louise/Louiza stations

Gare Centrale/Centraal Station is the nearest train station.

Make sure to visit the Museum!

The Museum will exceptionally be closed on the 1st and 5th of May, but outside these dates it is open every Wednesday, Saturday, Sunday and holiday from the 3rd of April until the 29nd of September (note: no heritage trips on Wednesdays). More details on opening times and timetables on our practical information page. Make sure to visit the Museum, because it is there that you can see one of the oldest trams in the world, horse-drawn car number 7! This fine vehicle represents the very first generation of trams in Brussels, put into service in 1869 on the Bois-Porte de Schaerbeek line. It will unfortunately not be shown at place Royale on May 1st, due to its fragility. It would have been too risky to move this unique car for the celebrations. Car number 7 will, however, get the tender loving care it needs: a renovation programme has recently gotten underway with a first, complete inventory of the vehicle by the Institut Royal du Patrimoine Artistique (IRPA).

Tram Week – 150th anniversary of trams in Belgium

On the occasion of the 150th anniversary celebrations in Brussels, several other heritage operations in Belgium are organizing a number of special events during the week of the 29th of April. You can find more details here. We would like to thank the following, participating organizations:

984 av Madoux 16 05 2016

7 av Tervuren, 06 03 2005

Truck 272 et Barnum 95

 

7908 ch Alsemberg, 22 07 2015 © M. Reps
© M. Reps

 

1002

Hippomobile 2 rue du Leybeek

7500 av Tervuren, 10 2016 © M. Reps
© M. Reps

Motrice 5008

150

Venez fêter avec nous les 150 ans de trams bruxellois !

Nederlandstalige bezoekers : klik hier

English visitors : click here

1869 Bois de la Cambre

4008 Meiser, 26 04 2007

L’Histoire a retenu la date du 1er mai 1869 pour la mise en service de la première ligne de tram à Bruxelles. Elle reliait le Bois de la Cambre à la Porte de Namur par l’avenue Louise, et était à traction hippomobile. Elle atteindra ensuite la Porte de Schaerbeek par la place des Palais et la rue Royale, puis trouvera un terminus plus durable à hauteur de l’actuelle Eglise Saint Servais, chaussée de Haecht. Electrifiée en 1897, elle recevra tout naurellement le matricule « 1 » lors de la numérotation des lignes en 1906. Elle sera encore prolongée jusqu’à la place Verboeckhoven (« Cage aux Ours ») et sera finalement supprimée en 1929, son itinéraire étant intégralement parcouru par le tram 3 qui partait, lui, de la Gare de Schaerbeek.

Le 1er mai 2019, soit tout juste 150 ans après l’inauguration de la ligne, notre Musée, la STIB et la Région bruxelloise ont tenu à fêter cet anniversaire en organisant une série d’événements sur l’itinéraire historique. Cliquez ici pour télécharger le programme complet en version PDF.

Un cortège de trams : 120 bénévoles et 40 véhicules !

Le point d’orgue de ces festivités sera sans conteste le grand cortège de trams dans la rue Royale, à partir de 14 heures. Pas moins de 40 véhicules particperont à ce cortège, représentant la plupart des modèles ayant circulé à Bruxelles, depuis les trams hippomobiles des débuts jusqu’aux véhicules modernes à plancher bas en service actuellement. Pour garantir le bon déroulement d’un tel défilé, le Musée du Tram va mobiliser 120 bénévoles en collaboration avec la STIB et Visit Brussels, l’office de tourisme de la région bruxelloise !

Une exposition : un tram à vapeur sur la place Royale !

A la place Royale, une exposition mettra en lumières le passé et l’avenir du tram à Bruxelles. Un tram hippomobile du XIXème siècle y côtoira une maquette grandeur nature du « tramway nouvelle génération » qui circulera à Bruxelles dès l’an prochain. Cette maquette sera rendue publique pour la première fois le 1er mai. Autre fait unique et grande première: quelques trams vicinaux,  qui reliaient jusqu’en 1978 Bruxelles à sa grande périphérie, complèteront l’exposition tout autour de la place. On pourra y admirer entre-autres une locomotive à vapeur « en chauffe », amenée de Thuin spécialement pour l’occasion. L’accès à l’exposition sera libre, entre 11 et 19h.

Une balade en vieux trams après la parade !

Entre 16h15 et 19h, des trams anciens proposeront des balades gratuites sur deux trajets suivant quasiment l’itinéraire original de la ligne de 1869. L’embarquement se fera rue Royale, à hauteur du Parc de Bruxelles. Des balades quasi pareilles seront encore organisées le dimanche 5 mai entre 11h et 18h. Attention : la capacité des véhicules les plus anciens est limitée, et la plupart des trams sont dans leur état d’origine ce qui les rend inaccessibles aux personnes à mobilité réduite ainsi qu’aux poussettes d’enfants.

Le Musée du Tram sous la loupe !

Notre Musée ne sera pas seulement présent au travers de ses 120 bénévoles, mais aussi grâce à un stand situé dans la cour intérieure du BIP, la « Maison de la Région » à la place Royale. Les visiteurs pourront y découvrir les diverses activités du Musée et faire quelques achats au Retro-Shop, notre boutique de livres et gadgets sur les transports en commun. Les personnes intéressées par les activités du Musée y trouveront aussi toutes les informations leur permettant de devenir membre de l’association.

Comment accéder à la Fête ?

Au vu de l’affluence attendue, il est fortement conseillé de se rendre sur place en transports en commun, si possible même en métro car les lignes de surface desservant le quartier risquent d’être passablement perturbées :

  • Métro 1 et 5 : stations Arts-Loi, Parc et Gare centrale
  • Métro 2 et 6 : stations Botanique, Arts-Loi, Trône et Louise

Pour nos visiteurs venant en train, c’est bien évidemment la Gare centrale qui sera la destination la plus pratique.

Visitez aussi le Musée !

Le Musée lui-même sera exceptionnellement fermé les 1/5 et 5/5, mais continuera à vous accueillir tout au long de la saison 2019 les mercredis, samedis, dimanches et jours fériés, entre le 3 avril et le 29 septembre (pas de circulation de véhicules historiques le mercredi). Le détail des jours d’ouverture et les horaires des circulations sont précisés sur la page Informations pratiques de notre site. Ne manquez pas une visite au Musée : ce sera l’occasion d’y admirer la grande absente des manifestations du 1er mai : notre superbe tram hippomobile n° 7, représentant les premiers trams mis en service en 1869 sur la ligne du Bois et probablement un des trois plus anciens trams préservés dans le Monde entier ! Il aurait en effet été trop risqué de déménager cette pièce unique vers la place Royale, son état général exigeant des soins particuliers. Un programme de réhabilitation de la « 7 » a d’ailleurs été récemment entamé avec le concours de l’Institut Royal du Patrimoine Artistique (IRPA) qui a déjà réalisé un constat d’état détaillé du véhicule.

La Semaine du Tram – les 150 ans du tram en Belgique

A l’occasion des 150 ans de tram à Bruxelles, plusieurs autres associations actives dans le domaine de la préservation de véhicules historiques, organisent des activites spéciales tout au long de la semaine du 29 avril. Vous trouverez toutes les informations ici. Nous remercions déjà tous nos partenaires qui ont répondu à notre appel :

Vous êtes journaliste? Consultez également le communiqué de presse (en coll. avec la STIB et Visit Brussels).

984 av Madoux 16 05 2016

7 av Tervuren, 06 03 2005

Truck 272 et Barnum 95

 

7908 ch Alsemberg, 22 07 2015 © M. Reps
© M. Reps

 

1002

Hippomobile 2 rue du Leybeek

MTUB - Pentecôte 2016
© Grégoire de Walque

 

 

 

Motrice 5008