The seventies are back on the 14th, 15th and 16th of May 2016!

The seventies changed our way of life in many ways. Today’s fashion, music and movies wouldn’t be the same without the decade of disco, punk and rock. Even Brussels’ public transport network underwent major changes in the 1970s. The opening of the very first metro line in September of 1976 revolutionized the way people got around, not only underground but also by bus and tram.

The Tram Museum would like to honor the decade during this year’s Whitsunday (or Pentecost) weekend. We have plenty on offer:

  • on the evening of the 14th of May, young singer Dunja, accompanied by The Brussels ConcertBand, will take the audience on a trip through 70s music history. She will be covering songs by artists like ABBA, Tina Turner, Queen and many more. If this makes you come down with a case of Saturday night fever, stick around! After the concert you can dance to the best tunes of the 70s and 80s. The concert starts at 8 pm, the party starts at 10.30 pm and lasts until about 2 am. Tickets: € 13 for MTUB members, € 19 for non-members,  € 10 for children aged 6 to 12, free admission for children under age 6. As the number of places is limited, we kindly ask you to make reservations by phone on 02 515 31 08.
  • on Sunday, the 15th of May, starting at 1 pm the Museum will receive bicycle history buffs, who will show you the history of this two-wheeled form of transport alongside our usual historical trams and buses.
  • and on Monday the 16th of May, we will end the weekend in style by honoring tram lines 41 and 45. These lines disappeared 40 years ago – in 1976 – after the inauguration of the very first metro line. In the morning, line 41 to Stockel will be the main focus, with a number of trams from our collection. During the afternoon, our historical trams will revive line 45 to Tervuren, alongside the current fleet of trams on today’s line 44. The Museum will exceptionally open its doors at 9.30 am. Fares and prices are the same as on a usual opening day.

During these three days, the Tram-O-Bar team is at your service with pies, sandwiches and drinks. The same goes for the staff at our Retro-Shop, who will be happy to show you around!

Concert The Brussels Concertband & Dunja

Les « seventies » à l’honneur les 14, 15 et 16 mai 2016 !

Que ce soit dans le domaine de la mode, de la musique ou dans bien d’autres encore, les « seventies » (années ’70) ont complètement changé notre mode de vie. Même les transports en commun bruxellois n’ont pas échappé à cette mini-révolution puisque le premier tronçon de métro fut inauguré en septembre 1976, entraînant d’importants changements dans le réseau des tramways et autobus de la capitale.

Le Musée du Tram a décidé de mettre cette période à l’honneur tout au long du prochain week-end de Pentecôte. Diverses animations vous seront proposées :

  • le soir du samedi 14 mai, la jeune chanteuse de jazz Dunja, bien connue en Flandre pour avoir participé à divers shows télévisés, accompagnera l’orchestre « Brussels Concertband » pour faire revivre quelques-uns des grands standards de l’époque (ABBA, Tina Turner, Queen et bien d’autres). Et si vous sentez en vous monter la fièvre du samedi soir, restez parmi nous après le concert car la soirée continuera au rythme des années ’70 et ’80. Début du concert à 20h, soirée dansante de 22h30 à environ 2h. Tarifs : 13 € pour les membres MTUB, 19 € pour les non-membres, 10 € pour les enfants de 6 à 12 ans et gratuit pour les moins de 6 ans. Attention, le nombre de places étant limité, la réservation est conseillée en téléphonant au 02 515 31 08.
  • le dimanche 15 mai, le Musée accueillera dès 13h des passionnés d’ancêtres à deux roues : bicyclettes, draisiennes, grand-bi… seront présentés « en action » aux côtés de nos trams et bus historiques circulant selon l’horaire et les tarifs habituels.
  • et le lundi 16 mai, pour finir en beauté, nous rendrons hommage aux lignes de trams 41 et 45 qui ont disparu en 1976 suite à la mise en service du métro. Le matin, la ligne 41 vers Stockel sera le théâtre de diverses reconstitutions historiques mettant en situation quelques trams de notre collection. L’après-midi, la ligne 45 vers Tervuren verra sa circulation renforcée par de nombreux trams historiques ayant emprunté cette ligne depuis le début du siècle passé. Exceptionnellement, le Musée sera ouvert dès 9h30. Les tarifs habituels seront d’application pour l’entrée au Musée et les circulations de l’après-midi.

Durant les trois jours, l’équipe du Tram-O-Bar vous accueillera au Musée (tartes, pistolets garnis et boissons) et notre boutique Retro-shop vous proposera son habituel assortiment de livres et objets divers évoquant les transports en commun d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.

Concert The Brussels Concertband & Dunja